Image by OEGlobal CC-BY

OE Awards 2021 UNESCO OER Implementation Winner announced

In 2021 the Open Education Awards for Excellence celebrates its 10th anniversary. 

Every year for ten years, Open Education Global recognizes brilliance within the Open Education sector through its Open Education Awards for Excellence. The winners of these awards represent works that encapsulate the aspirations of the movement, further inspire outstanding achievements, and add immeasurably to the shared wealth of the open education community. 

Celebrating the growth, diversity, and impact across the Open Education sector, this year there are four major focuses with 16 award categories in total. Each year, the awards categories grow to ensure relevance to the community and recognize the full range of open education activities, projects, resources, and practices. This year we are excited to introduce the Open Infrastructure Award highlighting the importance of a wider ecosystem that supports open education.

The UNESCO OER Implementation Award

Traditionally, the award winners for each of the categories are announced during the OE Global conference. However, 2021 also marks the 10th anniversary of the Open Education Awards for Excellence and we are planning things differently. The 2021 OE Awards winners will be announced progressively and by categories. 

To start the celebration, and in line with this year’s conference theme, the first award to be announced is the UNESCO OER Implementation Award. This category was introduced in 2020 in support of the UNESCO OER Recommendation.

While the awards have traditionally highlighted specific individuals, resources, and practices, on this special occasion we want to acknowledge the collective impact of the community. Together we stand for a world of openness where every open education practitioner, supporter, advocate, and enthusiast from around the world has made a difference.

With this in mind, the winners of the UNESCO OER Implementation award for the OE Award 2021 are every one of the 294 presenters at the Open Education Global 2021 online conference.

Open Education Global is honored to present the first community OE Award to all the presenters in the OE Global 2021 conference for their exemplary leadership in advancing the UNESCO OER Recommendation in their own practices.

All UNESCO OER Implementation Award 2021 winners are all listed on a dedicated page on OE Awards website

What’s next

In the run-up to the 10th anniversary of the Open Education Awards for Excellence, winners of the 2021 OE Awards will be revealed progressively and by categories, leading to a closing celebration on December 7th, 2021.

  • Winners of the UNESCO OER Implementation award were announced on Oct 1st at the Open Education Global 2021 Conference.
  • Open Assets Awards will be announced on Oct 15th.
  • Open Practices Awards + Resilience Award on Oct 30.
  • Individual Awards on Nov 15.
  • 10th Anniversary Celebration on Dec 7th.

It’s been 10 amazing years of rising with excellence. Ten years of growing, learning, sharing, and collaborating with this wonderful open education community. We invite you to come and celebrate with us!

Join us on this journey!